ESA signs agreement with ASECNA for EGNOS technology in Africa

The European Space Agency (ESA) has signed an agreement with the Agency for Air Navigation Safety in Africa and Madagascar (ASECNA) to provide technical support to ASECNA based on European EGNOS technology (European Geostationary Navigation Overlay Service) and using Galileo satellites.

The initial operational capabilities of the system will come into service from 2025. The signature took place in the offices of ESA in Paris, under the signature of Louis Bakienon, director of the ASECNA SBAS program, and Josef Aschbacher, director general of the ESA. ASECNA provides air navigation services in an airspace of 16.5 million km2, divided into six flight information regions covering its member states.

They are Benin, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Comoros, Congo, Ivory Coast, France, Gabon, Guinea Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Madagascar, Mali, Mauritania, Niger, Senegal, Chad and Togo. ASECNA signed an international agreement with the European Union in 2018 on satellite navigation and benefits from funding and access to EGNOS technology.

Leave a Comment